Faculty Excellence Graphic

With achievements for teaching, mentoring, research and more, seven faculty members were honored at Ovation's Day of Excellence.

Seven professors recognized for excellence

May 1, 2017

Baldwin Wallace faculty members were singled out for special recognition April 27 at the Ovation Day of Excellence. Although each award has a different focus, the honorees share a dedication to learning and the personal growth of their students. This year's winners include:

Ven OchayaStrosacker Award for Excellence in Teaching
Dr. Ven Ochaya
Associate Professor of Business Administration
Director of MBA in Entrepreneurship

This award is the foremost recognition for outstanding teaching at BW.

A student wrote: "He is constantly striving to improve BW’s competitive edge by ensuring graduates are ready for the current demands of business, whether he is creating new courses on leading topics or cultivating growth and passion in each individual."

Kenneth AtchinsonBechberger Award for Human Development
Kenneth Atchinson
Associate Professor of Mathematics & Computer Science

This award is given to a professor who has contributed in outstanding ways to the development and growth of students through leadership outside the classroom.

A colleague wrote: "He is exceptional in his effectiveness to connect with students academically, culturally and professionally and makes himself available days, nights and on weekends."

Diana BarkoGigax Faculty Scholarship Award
Dr. Diana Barko
Associate Professor of Chemistry

This award recognizes a faculty member who, through effective scholarship, has enhanced the learning environment at BW. 

A nominator wrote: "This professor was a steady source of encouragement and a patient mentor during my undergraduate research. She was a captivating instructor and made learning both engaging and accessible."

Steve Siry

Gigax Faculty Scholarship Award
Dr. Steven Siry
Professor of History

This award recognizes a faculty member who, through effective scholarship, has enhanced the learning environment at BW.

A nominator wrote: "This professor’s classes are graduate level (in terms of content) for the undergraduate student. There is so much information and none of it is superfluous."

Sungeun Kim

Exemplary Teacher Award
Dr. Sungeun Kim
Associate Professor of Piano

Co-sponsored by The General Board of Higher Education and Ministry of the United Methodist Church, the award recognizes a faculty member who exhibits excellence in teaching, civility and concern for students and colleagues, commitment to value-centered education and service to students, the institution and the community.

Lisa Green

Excellence in Community Engagement Award
Dr. Lisa Green
Professor of Psychology

This award recognizes the outstanding leadership and campus and community contributions of a professor who is advancing the BW mission of developing contributing and compassionate citizens through community-engaged teaching and learning.

Thomas SuttonStudent Senate Faculty Excellence Award
Dr. Thomas Sutton
Professor of Political Science
Burton Morgan Chair in Entrepreneurial Studies

This award recognizes outstanding classroom instruction, commitment to the academic and leadership development of students, and dedication to the campus community.

Student Senate wrote: "He is an extraordinary professor. He is dedicated to the development of his students outside of the classroom. He works to provide amazing opportunities and internships that encourage student growth."